The 20th successive Charlestown Regatta Raft Races were heralded with scorching temperatures, a refreshing breeze and – luckily – mostly blue skies, providing another perfect back-drop for a record-breaking 80 competitors, who heartily battled for supremacy on the high seas of Charlestown! More than £350 worth of prizes were up for grabs in this year's show stopping, hilarious Junior and Senior Raft Races, watched & cheered-on by throngs of delighted spectators who crowded the outer harbour and quays. The 'Fastest Ladies Crew' prize was enthusiastically supported in its second year, with growing competition from the 'All-Gal' crews.

JUNIORS

PROPER CORNISH LTD JUNIOR RAFT RACE (16 & under)

1st: £25 & Perpetual Cup: 'The Cornish Pearl' (Lewis White, Jasmine Clemo, Tom Keilbart, Charlie Austin)

2nd: £15: 'The White Pearl' (Paul White, Jack Healey, Oscar Acraman, Millie Austin)

3rd: £10: 'The Flintstones' (Jack Jeffery, Bradley Burn, Grant Harris, Lewis McCollock)

CARLYON BAY CAMPING PARK BEST JUNIOR RAFT (16 & under)

£60 & Perpetual Shield

Winners: 'The White Pearl' (Paul White, Jack Healey, Oscar Acraman, Millie Austin)

SENIORS

ST AUSTELL BREWERY 'PROPER JOB' SENIOR RAFT RACE

1st: case of Proper Job ale + crystal tankards & Perpetual Cup: 'Milky Waikaikai' (defending champions: Simon Biggs, Simon Taylor, Derek Thomas, Nick French)

2nd: £20 St Austell Brewery voucher: 'The Cornish Pearl' (Barry White, Peter Keilbart, Merryn White, Tom Williams)

3rd: St Austell Brewery Visitor Centre 'Brewing Experience' for 2: 'Chalky White' (Andy Ranger, Chris Maunder, Paul White, Steve Wiggins)

Special mention to an outstandingly speedy raft – 'The Black Pearl' (whose gallant attempt was scuppered at the last minute by 'uninflated balloons' ...!)

RASHLEIGH ARMS & ST AUSTELL BREWERY 'TRIBUTE' MOST ENTERTAINING SENIOR RAFT

Slab of award-winning Tribute ale +Tribute polo shirts & Perpetual Trophy Winners: 'Rich Charlies' (Tracy Goudge, Helen Such, Pete Roycroft, Alan Carlyon)

SEA BREEZE TRADING LTD & ATISHOO GALLERY FASTEST LADIES CREW

Camel Valley Sparkling Rose Brut & Perpetual Trophy

Winners: 'The White Pearls Ladies Who Raft!' (Sarah Leon-Leon, Sarah Acraman, Milena Acraman, Jonquil Payne)

Very special thanks to: Square Sail Ventures & Shane McCarthy for the generous use of the harbour and quays; Anchor Woman extraordinaire, Jean Caddy; St Austell Canoe Club, Mark Richards & paddling pals for Safety Canoes; Race Horn-Blower Starters: Juniors – 2018 Carnival Queen, Genevieve / Seniors - Eileen Clarke; Porthpean Outdoor Education Centre for loan of buoyancy aids; St John Ambulance for their care & attention; Best & Most Entertaining Raft Judges, Lesley Dibb & Angie Hoskins'.